Happy 100th Birthday Jimmy Carter!

Happy 100th Birthday Jimmy Carter!

Jimmy Carter is 100 years young today. He is an ongoing inspiration to all of us, proof that a human being primary motivated by decency can do amazing things, can achieve high office, and in the face of tremendous setbacks can serve with humility and humanity.

Jimmy Carter is my favorite President. I have no first hand memories of his time in office, as I was born the week after he was elected. He’s my favorite President for one very essential reason: I adamantly believe that he sincerely cared about the well-being of all of humanity, to a level that raised and set the bar for a world leader to meet.

If you haven’t seen it yet, I implore you to watch Jimmy Carter: Rock & Roll President this week. It’s a wonderful film and it speaks to the lingering potential in American politics which I think we substantially lost after 1980 but can get back.

In light of that, here’s a short gallery of Jimmy Carter showing America how to have fun:

Jimmy playing softball (yeah, that’s Ralph Nader as the umpire)

Jimmy bowling (but maybe not very well?)

Jimmy and Rosalynn dancing in style

Jimmy jumping over a fence at LaGuardia for some reason

Jimmy hanging out with Willie Nelson

Jimmy hanging out with the Allman Brothers

Jimmy helping Dizzy Gillespie remember the words to “Salt Peanuts”

Jimmy and Rosalynn holding hands after building houses

Jimmy and Rosalynn getting hitched in 1946

Jimmy being much cooler than you or me

Reply

or to participate.